• Blog,  Concerts

    Three Great Bands in One Night: Tom Keifer/LA Guns/Faster Pussycat Concert Review

    What a phenomenal concert my girlfriend Mariah Startzman and I saw.
    Tom Keifer L.A. GUNS and Faster Pussycat!
    They played at the outdoor portion of The Blue Note Harrison in Harrison, OH.
    All 3 were great.
    First time seeing Tom and Faster and they did not disappoint.
    Both Tom and Taime Downe (Faster Pussycat singer) are still as great as ever and their bands are solid as a rock.
    Lots of great songs.
    Second time seeing LA Guns and they were even louder this time.
    They have a solid discography but they have put out three phenomenal albums in the last five years (The Missing Peace, The Devil You Know, and Chequered Past).
    Singer Phil Lewis is still as great as ever and guitarist Tracii Guns is such an amazing guitarist.
    The whole band is solid.
    What a great package tour.
    More concerts to come.

    Tom Keifer Band Members:

    LA Guns Band Members:

    Faster Pussycat Band Members:

    Tom Keifer Set List:

    1. Touching The Divine
    2. Night Songs
    3. Coming Home
    4. It’s Not Enough
    5. Somebody Save Me
    6. Nobody’s Fool
    7. Solid Ground
    8. Fallin’ Apart At The Seams
    9. The Last Mile
    10. Don’t Know What You Got (Till It’s Gone)
    11. Shake Me
    12. Shelter Me
    13. Encore:  Gypsy Road

    LA Guns Set List:

    1. Cannonball
    2. Electric Gypsy
    3. Over The Edge
    4. Sex Action
    5. Gone Honey
    6. Speed
    7. Kiss My Love Goodbye
    8. Never Enough
    9. The Ballad Of Jayne
    10. Rip And Tear

    Faster Pussycat Set List:

    1. Jack The Bastard
    2. Cathouse
    3. Slip Of The Tongue
    4. Don’t Change That Song
    5. NOLA
    6. House Of Pain
    7. Bathroom Wall

    Photo Gallery (click on thumbnail to view larger image)

    Video Gallery (click on thumbnail to play video)

  • Blog,  Concerts

    Live & Unzoomed: Styx/REO Speedwagon/Loverboy Concert Review

    Holy cow what a concert!
    Styx and REO Speedwagon with Loverboy: Live and UnZoomed
    My favorite venue.
    All three bands were PHENOMENAL!!
    This was the first time I saw Loverboy.
    Still mostly the original lineup.
    Still at the top of their game.
    Great way to start the show.
    REO Speedwagon was next. This was the second time I saw them, although the first time I saw their whole set (I had to unfortunately leave early the first time).
    But still, they are phenomenal as well.
    Singer Kevin Cronin is 70 now and still moves around like he’s a kid and has a ton of enthusiasm.
    And his voice is still as phenomenal as ever.
    Great song after great song.
    Styx closed the show. My third time seeing the band (also have seen former singer/keyboardist Dennis DeYoung in concert once, who is still phenomenal too!!).
    Singer/Guitarist Tommy Shaw still has his awesome voice and the whole band is soooo tight.
    Always great seeing original bassist Chuck Panozzo too.
    Singer/Guitarist James “JY” Young is the MAN!
    And they’re still making great albums.
    The Mission and Crash Of The Crown are their newest albums and both are yes
    I had such a great time at this show.
    I’m not done yet.
    I’ll know when it’s time to stop and that time is not now.

    Styx Band Members:

    REO Speedwagon Band Members:

    Loverboy Band Members:

    Styx Set List:

    1. The Fight Of Our Lives
    2. Blue Collar Man (Long Nights)
    3. The Grand Illusion
    4. Lady
    5. Crash Of The Crown
    6. Light Up
    7. Sound The Alarm
    8. Rockin’ The Paradise
    9. Fooling Yourself (The Angry Young Man-with Chuck Panozzo)
    10. Too Much Time On My Hands
    11. Khedive/Rocketman (Lawrence Gowan solo segment)
    12. Lost At Sea (Lawrence and Chuck only)
    13. Come Sail Away (with Chuck)
    14. Encore:  Mr. Roboto
    15. Renegade (with Chuck)

    REO Speedwagon Set List:

    1. Music Man
    2. Take It On The Run
    3. Keep Pushin’
    4. Live Every Moment
    5. Tough Guys
    6. Can’t Fight This Feeling
    7. Like You Go
    8. Don’t Let Him Go
    9. Time For Me To Fly
    10. Back On The Road Again
    11. Ridin’ The Storm Out
    12. Keep On Loving You
    13. Roll With The Changes

    Loverboy Set List:

    1. Notorious
    2. Lucky Ones
    3. Queen Of The Broken Hearts
    4. The Kid Is Hot Tonite
    5. Lovin’ Every Minute Of It
    6. Hot Girls In Love
    7. Turn Me Loose 
    8. Working For The Weekend

    Photo Gallery (click on thumbnail to view larger image)

  • Blog,  Concerts

    Carry On Dust In The Wind: Kansas Concert Review

    Wow I saw another great concert.
    This time in practically my back yard: at the Paramount Arts Center in Ashland, Kentucky,
    where I used to go to see shows on school field trips.
    I saw the band Kansas
    They played all their classic Point Of Know Return album, as well as other classic songs and newer songs.
    I had never seen the band before so this was a first for me.
    It’s not totally the classic lineup now (only guitarist Richard Williams and drummer Phil Ehart remain) but everyone in the band now is on top of their game and singing and playing the songs the way fans want to hear them.
    The rest of the band is rounded out by lead singer/keyboardist Ronnie Platt (phenomenal singer), bassist/singer Billy Greer (also phenomenal), violinist/guitarist David Ragsdale, and keyboardist Tom Brislin.
    If you’re a fan and have not seen them, definitely go if you can.
    They are phenomenal and they’re still making great albums too.
    Also, I saw in the audience one of my college professors and mentors: Mr. Don Moore
    This man taught me a lot and I learned a lot from him and his Electronic Media program at Ohio University Southern when he was running it.
    Thank you Don for everything and it was great to see you and your new wife.
    All the best to both of you.

    Kansas Band Members:

    Kansas Set Lists:

    Acoustic Set:

    1. People Of The South Wind
    2. Hold On
    3. Memories Down The Line
    4. Refugee
    5. Lonely Wind

    Regular Set:

    1. The Wall
    2. Icarus-Borne On Wings Of Steel
    3. Throwing Mountains
    4. Can I Tell You
    5. Miracles Out Of Nowhere

    Point Of Know Return Album Set:

    1. Point Of Know Return
    2. Paradox
    3. The Spider
    4. Portrait (He Knew)
    5. Closet Chronicles
    6. Lightning’s Hand
    7. Dust In The Wind
    8. Sparks Of The Tempest
    9. Nobody’s Home
    10. Hopelessly Human

    Encore:  Carry On Wayward Son

    Photo Gallery (click on thumbnail to view larger image)

  • Blog,  Conventions

    Second Time Around: My Huntington Comic & Toy Convention 2022 Experience

    I had a great time at the second edition of Huntington Comic & Toy Convention.
    I went Saturday and Sunday.
    I got to see Chuck Norris for the third time (he signed a DVD for me and gave me a great hand shake), Kevin Conroy (voice of Batman), Beau Smith (the writer of Wynonna Earp, one of my girlfriend Mariah Startzman favorites), actor Sam Jones (star of Flash Gordon-Great guy), Jim Shooter (Marvel Comics writer), wrestling tag team The Rock And Roll Express (Ricky Morton and Robert Gibson-Ricky was very kind), and the great Joe Barta IV (one of my mentors) and his great wife V Brittany Barta.
    Joe makes old VHS boxes and turns them into notebooks.
    The company is called Be Kind Rewind VHS Notebooks Check them out!!
    I love going to Comiccons just as much as I do concerts.
    Huntington Comic & Toy Convention is run by the same people who do Lexington Comic & Toy Con and own The Inner Geek and I can’t say enough what a great operation they run and a great service they provide to fans.
    Thank you so much and let’s do it again next year.

    Photo Gallery (click on thumbnail to view larger image)