• Blog,  Concerts

    Prog Metal Trio: Queensryche/Dream Theater/Fates Warning Concert Review

    My brother Christopher and I went to see three bands in one night.

    Fates Warning started off with a very cool set of tunes.

    I was a little bit aware of them before this, but not much.

    Although their bassist, Joey Vera, I know from being in Armored Saint, who I really like a lot.

    I still need to check out more Fates Warning stuff.

    Then Dream Theater played and WOW they were mind blowing.

    Again, I knew of them, but not much.

    As of 2023 as I type this, I’ve seen them once more and have most of their albums.  Great band.

    But the main reason why we were here, or I was anyway, was to see Queensryche.

    I saw singer Geoff Tate and the band on VH1’s Rock Show a few times, and I really was in love with their music by this time.

    They were about to come out with the album Tribe, which I really love.

    They played a couple of songs off it, plus a lot of other songs spanning their at this point 22 year career.

    During Queensryche’s encore, the coolest thing happened:  Dream Theater came back on stage and played the encore with Queensryche.  They played one QR song, and one DT song.


    I’m so glad we were able to see this show.

    Queensryche Band Members:

    Dream Theater Band Members:

    Fates Warning Band Members:

    Queensryche Set List:

    1. Open (New Song)
    2. My Global Mind
    3. NM 156
    4. Screaming In Digital
    5. I Am I
    6. Damaged
    7. Empire
    8. Jet City Woman
    9. Silent Lucidity
    10. Tape (I Remember Now)
    11. Anarchy X
    12. Revolution Calling
    13. Speak
    14. Eyes Of A Stranger
    15. Desert Dance (New Song)
    16. Best I Can
    17. Encore:  Real World (w/Dream Theater)
    18. Act II:  Scene Eight:  The Spirit Carries On (w/Dream Theater)

    Dream Theater Set List:

    1. Intro Tape (A Clockwork Orange)
    2. Act 1:  Scene Two:  I. Overture 1928
    3. Act 1:  Scene Two:  II. Strange Deja Vu
    4. Act 1:  Scene Three:  I. Through My Words
    5. Act 1:  Scene Three:  II. Fatal Tragedy
    6. Under A Glass Moon
    7. The Great Debate
    8. Instrumedley
    9. Goodnight Kiss
    10. Solitary Shell
    11. Learning To Love

    Fates Warning Set List:

    1. One
    2. Life In Still Water
    3. Point Of View
    4. Still Remains
    5. A Pleasant Shade Of Gray, Part III
    6. Monument

    Photo Gallery (click on thumbnail to view larger image)