Blog,  Concerts

29 Years of British Steel: Judas Priest/Whitesnake/Pop Evil Concert Review

My cousin Zachary and I went to see Judas Priest and Whitesnake in Cincinnati, OH.

Pop Evil opened the show.

They were pretty good, but of course, we were there for Priest and Whitesnake.

Whitesnake were excellent.  First time either of us had seen them.

Singer David Coverdale has always been great.  This band is essentially his solo project because the lineup has fluctuated over the years.

His guitar duo of Doug Aldrich and Reb Beach were just incredible.

The whole band was great.

Not a long set, but lots of great songs.

A couple of new ones from their Good To Be Bad album, as well as a lot of songs from their self titled 1987 album, and other songs.

I’ve seen Whitesnake 3 other times, and no matter what, the band is always great.

Then the MIGHTY Judas Priest closed the show.

On this tour, they were celebrating 30 years of their 1980 album British Steel (technically 29 years old at this point) by playing the whole album in concert, plus some other songs too.

Singer Rob Halford is one of my heroes and favorite singers of all time.

Guitarists Glenn Tipton and K.K. Downing are the greatest guitar duo of all time, in my opinion.

Bassist Ian Hill has always been solid as a rock, as well as long time Drummer Scott Travis.

I love all of these guys.

Priest’s discography, as well as Whitesnake’s, is something to behold.

Phenomenal.  Phenomenal.  Phenomenal.

Judas Priest Set List:

  1. British Steel album (Songs 1-9 on this list):  Rapid Fire
  2. Metal Gods
  3. Breaking The Law
  4. Grinder
  5. United
  6. You Don’t Have To Be Old To Be Wise
  7. Living After Midnight
  8. The Rage
  9. Steeler
  10. The Ripper
  11. Prophecy
  12. Hell Bent For Leather
  13. Rock Hard, Ride Free
  14. Victim Of Changes
  15. Encore:  Freewheel Burning
  16. Diamonds & Rust
  17. You’ve Got Another Thing Comin’

Whitesnake Set List:

  1. Best Years
  2. Bad Boys
  3. Fool For Your Loving
  4. Love Ain’t No Stranger
  5. Slow And Easy
  6. Lay Down Your Love
  7. Guitar Duel
  8. Crying In The Rain (w/Drum Solo by Chris Frazier, who later joined Foreigner)
  9. Is This Love
  10. Give Me All Your Love Tonight
  11. Here I Go Again
  12. Encore:  Still Of The Night

Photo Gallery (click on thumbnail to view larger image)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *