Blog,  Concerts

Born To Be Wild and Slow Ride: John Kay & Steppenwolf/Foghat Concert Review

I went to another concert Wednesday.
I saw John Kay And Steppenwolf, with Foghat opening, in Columbus, Ohio.
Foghat played for about 45 minutes to an hour playing many classic songs, including their famous song “Slow Ride”, and a few new ones from their Under The Influence album.
They sounded really good and tight.
I’m glad I saw them and want to buy some of their albums.
I had wanted to see John Kay And Steppenwolf for years, but just never got around to it.
Well, I finally did see them, and am glad I did.
John’s voice is still very strong, and his band are solid.
They played many of their classic songs, as well as a few later songs.
My favorite song of their set was “Monster”, which is still quite current, lyrically, to this day.
It’s about the world we live in.
Again, I had another fun night at a concert.
My next concert is August 21, when I see Boz Scaggs and Michael McDonald.
Then two days later, Don Henley.
And a few more after that.
Stay tuned.

John Kay And Steppenwolf Band Members:

Foghat Band Members:

John Kay And Steppenwolf Set List:

  1. Sookie Sookie
  2. Rock & Roll Rebels
  3. Rock Me
  4. I’m Movin’ On
  5. Who Needs Ya
  6. Hey Lawdy Mama
  7. Hold On (Never Give Up, Never Give In)
  8. Ride With Me, Baby
  9. Screaming Night Hog
  10. Hoochie Coochie Man
  11. Snowblind Friend
  12. Monster
  13. Magic Carpet Ride
  14. Born To Be Wild
  15. Encore:  The Pusher

Foghat Set List:

  1. Fool For The City
  2. Eight Days on the Road (Howard Tate cover)
  3. Under The Influence
  4. Drivin’ Wheel
  5. Stone Blue
  6. unknown song
  7. I Just Want To Make Love To You (Willie Dixon cover)
  8. Slow Ride

Photo Gallery (click on thumbnail to view larger image)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *