Blog,  Concerts

It’s My Life: Bon Jovi Concert Review

I went to another fun concert last night in Columbus, Ohio.
Bon Jovi!!
I had never seen this band in person before.
They were worth the wait.
They played a lot of classics, but also played a lot of newer songs.
Seven songs on their newest album, This House Is Not For Sale, were played.
They also played Johnny B. Goode, in tribute to Chuck Berry, who died at age 90. Much respect.
The band is still on fire.
I wish former Bon Jovi guitarist Richie Sambora was still in the band, but I have to say, seeing two guitarists in the band, Phil X and John Shanks, is pretty cool.
They have another percussionist/backing singer, too, now: Everett Bradley.
And long standing bassist Hugh McDonald, is still pounding away on the low end.
Drummer Tico Torres was worth the price of admission alone. He is a BEAST on the drums.
Keyboardist/backing singer David Bryan is still great.
And Jon is Jon. The consummate frontman, singer/songwriter/musician, and professional.
Regardless of what anyone thinks about this band, or the fact that they’re not what they used to be, in terms of look or sound, they have persevered for 34 years and like Frank Sinatra said, they’ve done it their way.
Bon Jovi even used that quote in one of their biggest hits, It’s My Life, which they played. And they are still very successful.
The venue was packed, probably sold out.
The crowd was into it.
I actually like the newer stuff, so I was good with it.
I would have liked to have heard a few more older songs, but I’m still satisfied.
They played 2.5 hours, so that’s a lot of music.
I could say more, but I’ll just finish with saying that whoever you like, love, respect, etc., don’t ever stop doing that.
Jon has said in recent times that he does not see him doing this for much longer.
Now he/they may go another 10 years. Who knows.
But unfortunately, someday, we’re all going away, so enjoy everyone and everything you can while you can.
Now on that note, my concert experiences continue.
More to come.
Love and Peace,
Lucas Hannon
P. S. Here are just a few of the pictures I took below, along with the set list.
I was high up in the bleachers, so most of these pics I took of the big screen.
I could still see and hear them just fine, though.
Another fun concert for me. And also, to Heather Criswell, I’m glad you had fun at your first concert.

Set List:

  1. This House Is Not For Sale
  2. Knockout
  3. You Give Love A Bad Name
  4. Lost Highway
  5. Whole Lot Of Leaving
  6. Rollercoaster
  7. We Weren’t Born To Follow
  8. I’ll Sleep When I’m Dead/Johnny B. Goode (Chuck Berry tribute)/I’ll Sleep When I’m Dead (conclusion)
  9. We Got It Going On
  10. Who Says You Can’t Go Home
  11. It’s My Life
  12. We Don’t Run
  13. God Bless This Mess
  14. Scars On This Guitar
  15. Devils In The Temple
  16. Lay Your Hands On Me
  17. Born To Be My Baby
  18. Have A Nice Day
  19. Bad Medicine
  20. Keep The Faith
  21. Encore: Raise Your Hands
  22. Wanted: Dead Or Alive
  23. Living On A Prayer

Photo Gallery (click on thumbnail to view larger image)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *