Blog,  Concerts

I Met a Juke Box Hero: Foreigner/Cheap Trick/Jason Bonham’s Led Zeppelin Experience Concert Review

I saw Foreigner, Cheap Trick, and Jason Bonham’s Led Zeppelin Experience all in one night!
I saw them at the Riverbend Music Center in Cincinnati Tuesday, August 8th.
The show started off with Jason Bonham’s Led Zeppelin Experience.
It’s a tribute band featuring the son of Led Zeppelin drummer John Bonham, Jason Bonham.
Even though he is John’s son, I just consider him a great drummer, and he has played with Zeppelin (Even at his own wedding!)
He plays nothing but Zeppelin hits and album cuts.
The band is solid, especially singer James Dylan, who does a great job singing Robert Plant’s parts.
I missed some of their set because I had a pressing engagement (more on that later in this writing), but I saw most of the set, and it was great.
Jason is a beast on drums.
Cheap Trick came on shortly afterwards and were fun.
Robin Zander is still a great singer, Rick Nielsen rocks on guitar, Tom Petersson rocks on bass, and Dax Nielsen rocks on the drums.
Then Foreigner closed the set.
Led by the founder and only original member, Mick Jones, Foreigner played several of their classic hits and a few album cuts.
Singer Kelly Hansen does a great job, as does the whole band.
Now to that pressing engagement.
I met Mick Jones backstage during Jason Bonham’s set.
He was very nice and gracious to me, even as I was fanboying on him.
I had a few minutes with him, so I was able to tell him how much I loved his music and the band.
He even liked my Paul McCartney shirt.
When I told him I saw Sir Paul two years ago, he said he saw him, too.
And Mick also signed his new book, A Foreigner’s Tale, for me.
It’s a quick read, but very good.
Mick has been around and has done a lot of great things.
I definitely consider him a legend.
But most importantly, I consider him to be a nice person.
Well, that’s my last concert for a month.
Then, more to come.
Rock on!

Foreigner Set List:

  1. Double Vision
  2. Head Games
  3. Cold As Ice
  4. Waiting For A Girl Like You
  5. Blue Morning, Blue Day
  6. Dirty White Boy
  7. Feels Like The First Time
  8. Urgent
  9. Starrider (Mick sings)
  10. Juke Box Hero
  11. Encore: I Want To Know What Love Is
  12. Hot Blooded

Cheap Trick Set List:

  1. Hello There
  2. Long Time Coming
  3. Day Tripper (The Beatles cover)
  4. Magical Mystery Tour (The Beatles cover)
  5. Blackberry Way (The Move cover)
  6. She Said She Said (The Beatles cover)
  7. Getting Better (The Beatles cover)
  8. I’m Waiting For The Man
  9. The Flame
  10. I Want You To Want Me
  11. Dream Police
  12. Never Had A Lot To Lose
  13. Surrender
  14. Goodnight

Jason Bonham's Led Zeppelin Experience Set List:

  1. Black Dog
  2. Rock And Roll
  3. Over The Hills And Far Away
  4. The Wanton Song
  5. Nobody’s Fault But Mine
  6. Ramble On
  7. Immigrant Song
  8. Kashmir
  9. Whole Lotta Love

Photo Gallery (click on thumbnail to view larger image)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *