Blog,  Concerts

3 Classics: Deep Purple/Alice Cooper/Edgar Winter Concert Review

Another classic rock show in the Lucas book.
I saw Deep Purple, Alice Cooper, and Edgar Winter on the final night of their triple bill summer tour.
Edgar Winter started the proceedings with a solid dose of classic rock.
He and his band were having a lot of fun, which I love to see.
He not only sang, but played the keytar, saxophone, and some of his drummer’s drum kit.
A very fun set.
Then Alice Cooper came on and delivered another basically perfect show.
I’ve seen him 6 times now and I swear he never has a bad night.
He played a lot of hits, plus one song from his great new album Paranormal.
At the end of his set, Edgar Winter and Deep Purple guitarist Steve Morse got onstage and jammed with Alice and his great band.
Again, very fun.
Then Deep Purple came on.
It had been 16 years since I saw them.
They’re still great.
They played a lot of the classics, plus one song from their great new album Infinite and a song from their previous album, the great Now What?!
Singer Ian Gillan, guitarist Steve Morse, bassist Roger Glover, drummer Ian Paice, and keyboardist Don Airey are all virtuosos at what they do.
And after all these years, they’re still having fun, which is what it’s all about.
A very fun show all around, and
I’m glad I went.
More shows to come.
Stay tuned.

Deep Purple Set List:

  1. Highway Star
  2. Fireball
  3. Strange Kind Of Woman
  4. Uncommon Man (dedicated to their original keyboardist Jon Lord)
  5. Lazy
  6. Knocking At Your Back Door
  7. Pictures Of Home
  8. Perfect Strangers
  9. Don Airey Keyboard Solo (he played some of the main theme to Star Wars!)
  10. Time For Bedlam (New Song)
  11. Space Truckin’
  12. Hush
  13. Smoke On The Water (with Edgar Winter guitarist Michael Rappaport on second guitar)

Alice Cooper Set List:

  1. Brutal Planet
  2. No More Mr. Nice Guy
  3. Under My Wheels
  4. Billion Dollar Babies
  5. Paranoic Personality (New Song)
  6. Woman Of Mass Destruction
  7. Nita Strauss Guitar Solo
  8. Poison
  9. Halo Of Flies
  10. Feed My Frankenstein
  11. Cold Ethyl
  12. Only Women Bleed
  13. Killer (partial)
  14. I Love The Dead
  15. I’m Eighteen
  16. Schools Out (w/Edgar Winter and Steve Morse joining in)

Edgar Winter Set List:

  1. Free Ride
  2. Jumpin’ Jack Flash (The Rolling Stones cover)
  3. Tobacco Road
  4. Rock And Roll, Hoochie Koo
  5. Frankenstein

Photo Gallery (click on thumbnail to view larger image)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *